Independence is one of the qualities Americans value the most. The freedom to speak your mind and the freedom to travel this great nation is invaluable. However, if you have had your driver’s license suspended, you have lost the latter freedom.
If you are facing a charge of driving while impaired (DWI) while driving in the Minneapolis area, perhaps you are questioning when, if ever, you will have your license reinstated. How will you get to work? How will you go to the grocery store or pick up the kids? Relying on others or public transportation can be costly and restrictive. Taking the gamble to drive without your license, however, can be even more costly. You could face jail time and fines. Don’t lose your independence. Speak with an experienced attorney who understands Minnesota’s DWI penalties and who understands your personal situation and can help you regain your freedom.
Consequences Of A Suspended Driver’s License
Anyone who is charged with DWI is at risk of having his or her driver’s license suspended. Even a first time DWI offense can result in a loss. Minnesota’s legal limit is .08 BAC, but you can be arrested for less if law enforcement proves that alcohol/drugs caused driving errors. You are even more likely to face a suspended driver’s license if convicted of DWI and any of the following conditions apply:
- Prior convictions in the last 10 years
- Prior driver’s license alcohol revocations in the last 10 years
- .20 or higher blood alcohol concentration
- Having a minor (younger than 16 years) in the car at the time of the DWI
- Refusal of chemical tests
How Long Will My Driver’s License Be Suspended?
The length of time your driver’s license is suspended depends upon your individual situation. The general guidelines are as follows:
- 30 days’ or more suspension: First offense DWI
- 30 to 180 days’ suspension: Underage DWI (under Vanessa’s Law, if you are found guilty of DWI under the age of 21)
- 90 days’ suspension: BWI/AWI/SWI (boating, snowmobiling or driving an ATV while intoxicated)
- One year suspension: Felony DWI, criminal vehicular homicide or test refusal (arrested for DWI and refusal of chemical tests)
- Loss of commercial driver’s license: DWI conviction (even in your personal auto) will most likely result in a loss of your CDL
A Suspended License Conviction…What Can You Do?
If you are arrested for driving on a canceled, revoked or suspended driver’s license in the state of Minnesota, it is considered a misdemeanor offense. A driving with a suspended license conviction comes with a 90 day jail term and fines ranging to $1,000.
Losing your license not only impacts you personally but can also impact your driving, insurance and criminal record. It is possible to lessen this impact. Depending on your situation, the right DWI attorney may help you reduce your sentence and possibly attain a not guilty verdict.
More Questions Regarding A Suspended License?
The law can be confusing, especially concerning DWI/DUI laws in our state. Should you have questions concerning license suspension under Minnesota law, contact an experienced DWI attorney for answers. Your lawyer can explain Minnesota DWI penalties and which penalties apply to your personal situation. Your lawyer can also determine the best defensive strategy for your case to ensure the best possible outcome for you and your loved ones.